Seeing Ghosts Audiobook Cover

Seeing Ghosts

Kat Chow

Discover the captivating and graceful story of <em>Seeing Ghosts</em> by Kat Chow. This audiobook takes readers on a journey through grief, loss, and the power of storytelling. Explore the impact of grief on Kat Chow's Chinese American family as they emigrate between countries and navigate their shared sorrow. With thought-provoking themes and poignant writing, <em>Seeing Ghosts</em> offers readers a heartfelt and transformative experience. Acclaimed by NPR, TIME, The New York Times, Harper's Bazaar, Town & Country, and Fortune, this audiobook is a must-listen in 2021.

USD 0 14.95

Description

Introduction

Audiobook: Seeing Ghosts

Seeing Ghosts, written by Kat Chow and published by Grand Central Publishing, is a graceful and captivating story that delves into the depths of grief and the search for meaning. Through the eyes of three generations of her Chinese American family, Chow paints a poignant portrait of loss and the impact it has on their lives. This book is perfect for readers who enjoy Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander. In this article, we will explore the themes and narrative of Seeing Ghosts and how it offers a unique perspective on family and loss.

Summary of Seeing Ghosts

Seeing Ghosts revolves around Kat Chow's fixation on death and her fear of losing her loved ones. She is particularly anxious about her mother's mortality. However, her mother's morbid joke about wanting to be stuffed and displayed in Kat's future apartment becomes hauntingly prophetic when her mother unexpectedly passes away from cancer.

The novel explores the aftermath of grief, detailing the impact on Kat, her sisters, and their father. With a poignant and heartfelt narrative, Kat takes us on a journey through her family's history as they emigrate from China and Hong Kong to Cuba and America. The book raises thought-provoking questions about the importance of preserving and reclaiming one's family story.

The Journey of Loss

Through Seeing Ghosts, Kat Chow skillfully portrays the devastation and isolation that accompany grief. She beautifully captures the emotions experienced by her family as they navigate their individual paths of mourning. The story becomes an introspective exploration of self-discovery and transformation.

Seeing Ghosts serves as a powerful reminder of the universal experience of loss and the ways in which it shapes our identity. The book prompts readers to reflect on their own relationships with their families and the importance of storytelling.

Writing as Exorcism

Kat Chow contemplates the purpose of writing and whether it serves as a form of exorcism or a means of preservation. The act of writing becomes therapeutic for her, allowing her to process her grief and make peace with her loss. Seeing Ghosts delves into the cathartic power of storytelling and its ability to heal.

By penning her family's story, Chow invites readers to contemplate the ways in which narrating their own experiences can lead to personal growth and understanding. It becomes a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the transformative power of storytelling.

Audience Reception and Acclaim

Seeing Ghosts has received widespread acclaim and recognition for its emotional depth and evocative storytelling. NPR named it one of their Books We Love for 2021, and TIME labeled it a Must-Read Book of 2021. The New York Times recognized it as a Notable Book of 2021, and Harper's Bazaar highlighted it as a book readers need to explore this year. Furthermore, it was listed as a Town & Country Best Book of 2021 and a Fortune Best Book of 2021.

Conclusion

Seeing Ghosts is a breathtaking exploration of grief, family, and the power of storytelling. By sharing her personal journey, Kat Chow offers readers a unique perspective on loss and the ways in which it shapes our lives. This audiobook is a must-listen for anyone seeking a heartfelt and thought-provoking story that will resonate long after the final chapter.

Additional Info

Book Name: Seeing Ghosts
Book Format: AudiobookFormat
Authors: Kat Chow
Narrators: Kat Chow
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs
Audiobook Length: 9H54M
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Language: English
Publish Date: 2021-08-24
Last Price: 14.95 USD

Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)

What is the book 'Seeing Ghosts' about?

The book 'Seeing Ghosts' is a story about grief and the search for meaning, told through the prism of three generations of the author's Chinese American family.

What were the author's concerns about death?

The author, Kat Chow, has always been fixated on death and worried constantly about her parents dying, especially her mother.

What morbid joke did Kat's mother make?

Kat's vivacious and mischievous mother made a joke that when she died, she would like to be stuffed and displayed in Kat's future apartment in order to always watch over her.

How did Kat and her family cope with the death of her mother?

After her mother died unexpectedly from cancer, Kat and her family were plunged into a debilitating and lonely grief.

Where does 'Seeing Ghosts' explore the fallout of grief in the author's family?

'Seeing Ghosts' explores the fallout of grief in the author's extended family as they emigrate from China and Hong Kong to Cuba and America.

What question does 'Seeing Ghosts' ask about family stories?

'Seeing Ghosts' asks what it means to reclaim and tell your family's story, whether writing is an exorcism or its own form of preservation.

What type of book is 'Seeing Ghosts' considered?

'Seeing Ghosts' is considered an extraordinary new contribution to the literature of the American family and a provocative and transformative meditation on loss.

What are some positive reviews of 'Seeing Ghosts'?

Positive reviews of 'Seeing Ghosts' include praises for the author's examination of her family's history, her expressive language choices, and the emotional impact of the book.

Is 'Seeing Ghosts' recommended for those reflecting on loss?

Yes, 'Seeing Ghosts' is recommended for anyone reflecting on a passed family member and the experience of grief.

What is the overall opinion of the book 'Seeing Ghosts'?

The overall opinion of 'Seeing Ghosts' is that it is a beautiful and profound story that evokes both laughter and tears, resonating with readers' own experiences of loss.

Reviews

11 reviews for this audiobook
  • Sa
    Sarah Johnson 28-Sep-2023

    I just finished reading Seeing Ghosts and I'm blown away. Kat Chow's writing style is so engaging, I couldn't put the book down. Definitely a 5-star read!

  • Da
    David Thompson 03-Oct-2023

    Having recently lost a loved one, Seeing Ghosts resonated with me on a deep level. Kat Chow beautifully explores grief and the everlasting presence of those we've lost. Highly recommend!

  • Em
    Emily Adams 07-Oct-2023

    If you're a fan of memoirs that touch your soul, Seeing Ghosts is a must-read. Kat Chow's poignant storytelling and vulnerability make this book truly unforgettable.

  • Ja
    Jake Anderson 25-Oct-2023

    Seeing Ghosts is a raw and powerful memoir that delves into the complexities of cultural identity and family dynamics. Kat Chow's voice is authentic and inspiring.

  • Me
    Megan Foster 10-Nov-2023

    As someone who has experienced loss, I found Seeing Ghosts incredibly relatable. Kat Chow's ability to capture the essence of grief and healing is remarkable.

  • Ry
    Ryan Thompson 20-Nov-2023

    Kat Chow's Seeing Ghosts is a beautiful exploration of love, loss, and the search for belonging. Her storytelling is captivating and left me wanting more.

  • Ol
    Olivia Turner 14-Dec-2023

    Seeing Ghosts is a deeply personal and introspective memoir. Kat Chow's writing takes you on a journey through her experiences with loss and self-discovery. A truly moving read.

  • Be
    Benjamin Lewis 01-Feb-2024

    I had high expectations for Seeing Ghosts, and it exceeded them. Kat Chow's ability to blend vulnerability and strength in her storytelling is truly admirable. Highly recommend!

  • So
    Sophia Rodriguez 04-Mar-2024

    Kat Chow's Seeing Ghosts is an emotional rollercoaster that will make you laugh, cry, and reflect on your own experiences with loss. An absolute gem of a memoir.

  • Ma
    Matthew Davis 22-Mar-2024

    Seeing Ghosts is not only a memoir but also a beautifully written love letter to family, heritage, and the power of memories. Kat Chow's words will stay with you long after you finish the book.

  • Je
    Jessica Price 11-Apr-2024

    If you're searching for a heartwrenching memoir that will make you confront your own emotions, Seeing Ghosts is the perfect choice. Kat Chow's storytelling is both compelling and cathartic.

Add a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Rating *