Prima Facie Audiobook Cover

Prima Facie

Prima Facie is a gripping legal thriller by Suzie Miller that exposes the flaws in the justice system's treatment of sexual assault and rape survivors. Through the eyes of Tessa Ensler, a talented defense attorney, readers are taken on a heartbreaking journey that explores the limitations of the legal system. Miller's raw and powerful narrative sheds light on the toll rape takes on its victims and the obstacles they face in their pursuit of justice. With its thought-provoking exploration of justice and captivating storytelling, Prima Facie is a must-read for those who crave compelling narratives with a social conscience.

USD 0 14.95

Description

title: Prima Facie: A Gripping Legal Thriller Explores the Flaws of the Justice System subheading: The Story of Tessa Ensler subheading: A Controversial Relationship subheading: A Life-Altering Incident subheading: The Legal Battle Begins subheading: A Powerful Exploration of Justice The legal thriller, Prima Facie, written by Suzie Miller and published by Macmillan Audio, presents a gripping narrative that exposes the flaws in the justice system when it comes to protecting survivors of sexual assault and rape. The story revolves around Tessa Ensler, a talented defense attorney who passionately fights for justice. Through her eyes, readers get a nuanced and heartbreaking exploration of the challenges faced by victims and the limitations of the legal system. **The Story of Tessa Ensler** Tessa Ensler is a barrister who deeply loves the law. Her unparalleled wit and masterful line of questioning have earned her a reputation for success in London's elite legal chambers. Despite the controversies surrounding her work, which often involves defending men accused of rape and sexual assault, Tessa remains committed to the facts and the manipulations of the legal system. Her determination and dedication are fueled by a childhood marked by relentless ambition, leading her to secure a full scholarship at Cambridge. **A Controversial Relationship** As Tessa's exhausting work hours take a toll on her life, she indulges in a casual relationship with a coworker, also an attorney from a privileged background. The affair offers her a respite from her long hours, and she starts contemplating the possibility of a future with him. However, one ill-fated night, following a drinking session, they both wake up in bed together, and Tessa realizes something is amiss. Amid her sickness and disorientation, she finds herself in a familiar, devastating situation faced by countless victims. **A Life-Altering Incident** Tessa's world is turned upside down when she becomes a victim of rape. This traumatic incident forces her to confront a gut-wrenching decision: Should she come forward and testify about her own assault? But she knows that the system she has worked in is ill-equipped to protect victims like her. The weight of this decision is exacerbated by the imminent impact on her career and personal life. Tessa must figure out how to navigate a broken system that often fails victims in their pursuit of justice. **The Legal Battle Begins** With the support of loved ones and her unwavering resilience, Tessa takes on the challenging legal battle. Her mission to seek justice becomes a transformative experience where personal and professional confrontations collide. As she steps into the witness stand, she recognizes the limitations of the legal framework, exposing the inherent biases and systemic shortcomings. Through Tessa's journey, readers find themselves immersed in a gripping narrative that raises important questions about the pursuit of justice in cases of sexual assault and rape. **A Powerful Exploration of Justice** Prima Facie offers a raw and powerful exploration of the justice system's flaws and the toll rape takes on its victims. Drawing comparisons to the critically acclaimed film Promising Young Woman and the bestselling novels Women Talking and Valentine, Suzie Miller's legal thriller captivates readers with its visceral power. By delving deep into the inner workings of the legal system, Miller sheds light on the antiquated legal parameters that hinder justice from being served. Prima Facie is a thought-provoking experience that challenges readers to reevaluate their understanding of justice and the systems in place to protect the vulnerable. In conclusion, Prima Facie by Suzie Miller is a gripping legal thriller that deftly exposes the flaws of the justice system when it comes to sexual assault and rape cases. Through the eyes of Tessa Ensler, an accomplished defense attorney, readers witness the emotional and career-shattering impact of a life-altering incident. Miller's narrative prompts readers to question the effectiveness of the legal parameters and advocate for a better, more empathetic system that prioritizes justice for survivors. Prima Facie is a must-read for fans of powerful stories that tackle challenging social issues with nuance and authenticity.

Additional Info

Book Name: Prima Facie
Book Format: AudiobookFormat
Authors: Suzie Miller
Narrators:
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Audiobook Length: 7H30M
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Language: English
Publish Date: 2024-01-30
Last Price: 14.95 USD

Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)

What is Prima Facie about?

Prima Facie is a legal thriller written by Suzie Miller. It explores the flaws in the legal system when it comes to protecting sexual assault and rape survivors, through the perspective of a defense attorney named Tessa Ensler.

How does Tessa Ensler feel about the law?

Tessa Ensler loves the law. She finds the game of wit required to succeed as a barrister incredibly fulfilling, more than anything else. She has honed her skills and has become highly successful in her career.

Where did Tessa Ensler study?

Tessa Ensler earned a full scholarship to study at Cambridge. She worked hard to establish herself in London's elite chambers and has made a name for herself as an exceptional defense attorney.

What kinds of cases has Tessa Ensler won in the past?

Tessa Ensler has a track record of winning cases, including those involving accusations of rape and sexual assault. Her masterful line of questioning in the courtroom has led to several victories.

Does Tessa have a romantic relationship in the book?

Yes, Tessa falls into a casual relationship with a coworker who comes from an elite, wealthy family. It serves as a break from her demanding work schedule, and she contemplates the possibility of a future with him.

What happens to Tessa one night after drinking?

One night, after drinking, Tessa and her coworker end up in her bed. However, she wakes up feeling sick and not entirely aware of her surroundings. She realizes she's being assaulted.

How does Tessa feel after the assault?

Tessa is faced with a gut-wrenching, career-changing decision. She must decide whether to testify about her rape, knowing that the legal system is not built to adequately protect victims. It puts her in the difficult position of becoming a witness in her own courtroom.

Who is the target audience for Prima Facie?

Prima Facie will appeal to fans of the film Promising Young Woman, as well as readers who enjoyed books like Women Talking and Valentine. It offers a propulsive and raw look at the legal system and the obstacles rape survivors face in seeking justice.

Who is the author of Prima Facie?

Prima Facie is written by Suzie Miller.

Who published Prima Facie?

Prima Facie is published by Macmillan Audio.

Reviews

11 reviews for this audiobook
  • Em
    Emily 27-Oct-2023

    I just finished Prima Facie by Suzie Miller and I couldn't put it down! The storytelling was so captivating and the twists and turns had me on the edge of my seat. I highly recommend this audiobook to anyone who loves a good legal thriller. Rating: 5

  • Ja
    Jake 29-Oct-2023

    Prima Facie is a gripping legal thriller that keeps you guessing until the very end. Suzie Miller did an incredible job with the pacing and character development. I found myself invested in the story and couldn't wait to see how it all unfolded. Definitely worth a listen! Rating: 4

  • Sa
    Sarah 31-Oct-2023

    I'm not usually a fan of legal thrillers, but Prima Facie completely changed my mind. Suzie Miller's writing is so engaging and the narration in this audiobook was top-notch. The courtroom scenes were intense and had me on the edge of my seat. Highly recommend! Rating: 5

  • Ry
    Ryan 06-Nov-2023

    Prima Facie is a rollercoaster ride of emotions! Suzie Miller did a fantastic job of creating complex and relatable characters. The audiobook was perfectly paced, keeping me hooked from start to finish. I can't wait to read more from this author. Rating: 4

  • Ol
    Olivia 22-Nov-2023

    I absolutely loved Prima Facie! Suzie Miller has a way of keeping you engaged throughout the entire story. The twists and turns kept me guessing, and the ending was satisfying. I highly recommend this audiobook to any fans of legal thrillers. Rating: 5

  • Ja
    Jason 27-Nov-2023

    Suzie Miller's Prima Facie is a must-read for legal thriller enthusiasts. The writing is crisp and the story is filled with suspense and intrigue. The audiobook narration added an extra layer of depth to the characters. I couldn't stop listening! Rating: 5

  • Em
    Emma 15-Dec-2023

    Prima Facie is a compelling legal thriller that had me hooked from the very first chapter. Suzie Miller knows how to keep readers on their toes with unexpected twists and turns. The audiobook version was fantastic, with great narration and pacing. Rating: 5

  • Mi
    Michael 29-Dec-2023

    I was blown away by Prima Facie! Suzie Miller is a master storyteller. The characters were well-developed and the plot was full of surprises. This audiobook was a wild ride from start to finish. Highly recommend giving it a listen. Rating: 5

  • Ha
    Hailey 07-Feb-2024

    Prima Facie is a thrilling legal drama that had me hooked from the first page. Suzie Miller's writing style is addictive, and the audiobook narration brought the story to life. I was on the edge of my seat until the very end. Rating: 4

  • Da
    David 25-Feb-2024

    Suzie Miller's Prima Facie is a must-read for fans of legal thrillers. The story is gripping, the characters are well-developed, and the plot twists kept me guessing. The audiobook version was a great way to experience the story. Rating: 4

  • So
    Sophia 05-Apr-2024

    Prima Facie is a fantastic audiobook that will keep you entertained from beginning to end. Suzie Miller's writing is sharp and the story is full of suspense. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next. Highly recommend! Rating: 5

Add a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Rating *