A Naked Singularity Audiobook Cover

A Naked Singularity

Luis Moreno

Embark on a profound and enlightening journey with A Naked Singularity, an audiobook that is both thought-provoking and hilarious. Written by Sergio De La Pava and published by Recorded Books, this novel takes listeners through the life of Casi, a public defender whose unwavering sense of justice begins to crumble. With influences from literary giants like DeLillo and Pynchon, A Naked Singularity explores crime, courtrooms, immigrant families, media savagery, and a breathtaking heist. It acts as a mirror to our society, highlighting the gap between justice and the law. Sergio De La Pava's exceptional talent and insightful commentary make this audiobook a captivating and must-listen experience.

USD 0 14.95

Description

Introduction

Picture a world where the boundaries between justice and the law are blurred, where the pursuit of truth often leads to disillusionment. Enter the world of A Naked Singularity, a thought-provoking and engrossing audiobook written by Sergio De La Pava and published by Recorded Books.

Journey through the Life of Casi

The story revolves around the life of Casi, a public defender of Colombian descent who resides in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan. Despite his impeccable track record of never losing a trial, Casi's unwavering sense of justice and identity begin to crumble. As his world gradually falls apart, listeners are taken on a rollercoaster of emotions.

Ambitious and Hilarious

A Naked Singularity is a monumental and audacious novel that draws influence from literary giants such as DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and Melville. It captivates listeners with its distinct and often comical narrative style, offering a glimpse into the human condition with a heavy dose of empathy.

A Panoramic Exploration

This audiobook paints a sprawling canvas that delves into the realms of crime and courtrooms, immigrant families and urban decay, media brutality and satire, as well as the grit and intensity of boxing. The narrative even features a thrilling heist, reminiscent of the most gripping crime novels.

A Mirror to Contemporary Society

Just as Infinite Jest captured the essence of mid-'90s culture, A Naked Singularity encapsulates the feelings of overwhelm, fracture, and exhaustion that permeate our modern civic and cultural landscape. It lays bare the gaping chasm between justice and the law, firmly aligning with those who are perpetually left unsatisfied by the legal system in our world.

An Empowering Voice

With an opening sentence that echoes William Gaddis' A Frolic of His Own, A Naked Singularity boldly declares that justice remains elusive in our reality, leaving us to make do with the imperfect laws of society. Sergio De La Pava skillfully channels the frustration and longing of individuals who yearn for true justice.

Award-Winning Author

Sergio De La Pava has received critical acclaim for his work, with A Naked Singularity showcasing his exceptional talent. Through his mesmerizing prose and gripping storytelling, De La Pava offers an insightful commentary on the flaws of our legal system, resulting in a captivating and thought-provoking audiobook experience.

Conclusion

Embark on a profound and enlightening journey with A Naked Singularity. This audiobook, published by Recorded Books, skillfully intertwines humor, empathy, and social commentary to create a truly immersive experience. Whether you're a fan of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, or Pynchon, or simply seek an audiobook that offers a unique and bold perspective on justice, A Naked Singularity is a must-listen.

Additional Info

Book Name: A Naked Singularity
Book Format: AudiobookFormat
Authors: Sergio De La Pava
Narrators: Luis Moreno
Genres: Literature & Fiction
Audiobook Length: 27H12M
Publisher: Recorded Books
Language: English
Publish Date: 2016-06-22
Last Price: 14.95 USD

Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)

What is the book A Naked Singularity about?

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender.

Who is the author of A Naked Singularity?

Sergio De La Pava is the author of A Naked Singularity.

What is the writing style of A Naked Singularity?

A Naked Singularity is written in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. It uses an informal tone, personal pronouns, and incorporates analogies and metaphors.

What is the genre of A Naked Singularity?

A Naked Singularity can be classified as a huge, ambitious novel in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville. It covers themes of crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing.

Does A Naked Singularity incorporate elements of humor?

Yes, A Naked Singularity is described as being hilarious and entertaining.

What is the premise of A Naked Singularity?

A Naked Singularity explores the story of Casi, a public defender whose sense of justice and self begin to crack, leading to a devolution of his world. The book delves into themes of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeate civic and cultural lives.

Who would enjoy reading A Naked Singularity?

A Naked Singularity may appeal to readers who enjoy books that are entertaining, philosophical, and satirical. It is recommended for those who appreciate novels with a literary style and depth.

What are some of the user reviews of A Naked Singularity?

User reviews of A Naked Singularity describe the book as highly entertaining, amusing, and philosophical. Some readers found the book to be meandering and noncommittal in terms of meaning, while others enjoyed the satirical elements and the portrayal of everyday events.

Reviews

11 reviews for this audiobook
  • Ja
    Jane 02-Oct-2023

    Wow, this audiobook was mind-blowing! Sergio De La Pava's writing style is like a wild rollercoaster ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Definitely a 5-star experience.

  • Jo
    John 04-Oct-2023

    I couldn't put this audiobook down! Sergio De La Pava has created a captivating story with complex characters and unexpected twists. Highly recommend it!

  • Em
    Emma 06-Oct-2023

    A Naked Singularity is a masterpiece! Sergio De La Pava's storytelling is so vivid and immersive, it feels like you're right there in the midst of the action. Absolutely loved it!

  • Da
    David 24-Oct-2023

    This audiobook is a wild and thrilling journey through moral complexities. Sergio De La Pava's writing will make you question your own beliefs. Highly thought-provoking!

  • Sa
    Sarah 13-Nov-2023

    Sergio De La Pava's A Naked Singularity is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. The characters are so well-developed, it's as if they jump right out of the audiobook and into your life. Highly recommend!

  • Mi
    Michael 08-Dec-2023

    I'm blown away by Sergio De La Pava's storytelling skills in this audiobook. The plot is so unique and filled with unexpected turns. This is a must-listen!

  • Em
    Emily 01-Jan-2024

    A Naked Singularity is a literary gem. Sergio De La Pava's use of language is both poetic and captivating. I was completely engrossed from start to finish.

  • Da
    Daniel 15-Jan-2024

    This audiobook is pure brilliance! Sergio De La Pava's writing style is like a symphony, with each sentence adding to the overall masterpiece. Highly recommended!

  • Ol
    Olivia 11-Mar-2024

    Sergio De La Pava takes you on a wild ride in this audiobook. The story is so immersive, it's like watching a movie in your mind. Absolutely loved it!

  • Ry
    Ryan 25-Apr-2024

    A Naked Singularity is a thought-provoking and mind-bending audiobook. Sergio De La Pava's ability to delve into philosophical questions while keeping the plot engaging is truly impressive. Highly recommend!

  • So
    Sophia 14-Jun-2024

    Sergio De La Pava's writing in A Naked Singularity is a breath of fresh air. His style is raw, honest, and packs an emotional punch. Couldn't put this audiobook down!

Add a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Rating *