A Great Country Audiobook Cover

A Great Country

Discover the emotional journey of the Shah family in 'A Great Country' by Shilpi Somaya Gowda. This gripping audiobook explores the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police. With themes of immigration, generational conflict, and the price of the American dream, Gowda's novel delves into the complexities of cultural identity and societal expectations. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Brit Bennett, 'A Great Country' is a thought-provoking exploration of family dynamics and the pursuit of success.

USD 0 14.95

Description

Audiobook Review: A Great Country

Introduction

Welcome to this review of the audiobook 'A Great Country' written by Shilpi Somaya Gowda and narrated by HarperAudio. In this novel, Gowda explores the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police. Set in Pacific Hills, California, this gripping story delves into the complexities of immigration, generational conflict, social class, and the price of the American dream.

A Family's Journey

The Shah family, consisting of parents who migrated to America two decades ago and their American-born children, is the focal point of the story. This move to the picturesque and affluent Pacific Hills represents the culmination of years of hard work and dreams.

However, success is not easily attained for the Shah children who face the challenges of navigating their dual cultural identities. Differences between family members, such as arguments between parents and children, further highlight the generational gap.

A Violent Encounter

Everything changes for the Shah family one fateful Saturday night when their twelve-year-old son is arrested. This incident becomes a turning point for each family member, forcing them to question their individual identities and their roles in their community and in America as a whole.

The fallout from the arrest raises important questions about defining success, the cost of ambition, and the responsibility each individual has in contributing to the cultural mosaic of modern America.

Themes and Reflections

'A Great Country' addresses themes that resonate with contemporary society. Gowda explores the complexities of immigration and the challenges faced by families who straddle multiple cultures. The novel delves into generational conflict, social class, and the concept of privilege.

The story also challenges the myth of the model minority and offers a thought-provoking analysis of the price one pays for pursuing the American dream.

Comparison and Recommendations

If you enjoyed reading books such as Celeste Ng's 'Little Fires Everywhere' or Brit Bennett's 'The Vanishing Half,' 'A Great Country' is a must-read. The exploration of family dynamics, cultural clashes, and identity struggles will captivate readers who appreciate compelling storytelling.

Readers who enjoyed Kiley Reid's 'Such a Fun Age' will find similar themes of social commentary and racial dynamics in 'A Great Country.'

Conclusion

'A Great Country' is a powerful novel that takes readers on an emotional journey filled with gripping storytelling and thought-provoking reflections on contemporary society. Shilpi Somaya Gowda's writing style captures the essence of the characters and their struggles, making the audiobook a captivating and immersive experience. Whether you are interested in themes of immigration, generational conflicts, or social class, this audiobook has something to offer.

Immerse yourself in the world of the Shah family and discover the complexities of their journey in 'A Great Country.'

Additional Info

Book Name: A Great Country
Book Format: AudiobookFormat
Authors: Shilpi Somaya Gowda
Narrators:
Genres: Literature & Fiction
Audiobook Length: 12H
Publisher: HarperAudio
Language: English
Publish Date: 2024-03-26
Last Price: 14.95 USD

Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)

What is the title of the novel?

A Great Country

Who is the author of the novel?

Shilpi Somaya Gowda

What is the publisher of the novel?

HarperAudio

In what genre does the novel fall?

Fiction

What other books are mentioned as similar to this novel?

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett and Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid

What is the setting of the novel?

Pacific Hills, California

What is the main conflict in the story?

The arrest of the twelve-year-old son

What themes are explored in the novel?

Themes of immigration, generational conflict, social class and privilege

What questions are raised in the novel?

How do we define success? At what cost comes ambition? And what is our role and responsibility in the cultural mosaic of modern America?

Reviews

11 reviews for this audiobook
  • Sa
    Sarah Jones 02-Oct-2023

    A Great Country is a captivating audiobook that takes you on a heartfelt journey through the lives of two women. The narrative is beautifully written and narrated, making it a joy to listen to. The author, Shilpi Somaya Gowda, has crafted a story that explores themes of family, identity, and belonging. Highly recommend.

  • Jo
    John Smith 09-Oct-2023

    I couldn't put this audiobook down! A Great Country is a powerful story that touches the heart. Gowda's writing style is evocative and the narration brings the characters to life. It's a perfect blend of emotional depth and captivating storytelling. Definitely a must-listen.

  • Em
    Emily Thompson 21-Oct-2023

    A Great Country is a beautifully woven tale of love, loss, and resilience. Gowda's descriptive writing allows you to vividly imagine the settings and empathize with the characters. The audiobook is a true gem that will keep you hooked from start to finish. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys powerful storytelling.

  • Mi
    Michael Davis 11-Nov-2023

    This audiobook is simply amazing. A Great Country is a moving and thought-provoking story that shines a light on the human spirit. The characters are so well-developed, and the narration adds an extra layer of depth to their journeys. It's a must-listen for anyone who enjoys stories about personal growth and overcoming challenges.

  • Je
    Jennifer Wilson 05-Dec-2023

    A Great Country is a deeply moving audiobook that will tug at your heartstrings. Gowda's writing is both powerful and tender, and the narration captures the emotions of the characters perfectly. It's a story of love, forgiveness, and the struggle for a better life. Highly recommend.

  • Ro
    Robert Thompson 15-Dec-2023

    I was completely engrossed in A Great Country from the very first minute. The audiobook is beautifully narrated, and the story is incredibly touching. Gowda's writing is captivating, and she skillfully explores the complexities of family relationships and the search for happiness. A must-listen for fans of heartfelt storytelling.

  • Me
    Melissa Johnson 27-Dec-2023

    A Great Country is an audiobook that will stay with you long after you've finished listening. Gowda's storytelling is masterful, and the narration brings the characters to life in a way that feels deeply personal. It's a tale of love, sacrifice, and the pursuit of a better life. Highly recommended.

  • Da
    David Brown 24-Jan-2024

    If you're looking for an audiobook that will touch your heart and leave you thinking, A Great Country is the perfect choice. Gowda's writing is honest and raw, and the narration takes you on an emotional rollercoaster. It's a story of resilience, hope, and the power of love. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Mi
    Michelle Wilson 20-Mar-2024

    A Great Country is a beautifully written and narrated audiobook that will transport you to another world. Gowda's storytelling is immersive, and the characters will capture your heart. It's a tale of friendship, family, and the strength of the human spirit. Don't miss out on this remarkable listening experience.

  • Da
    Daniel Anderson 22-May-2024

    I absolutely loved A Great Country! This audiobook is a true gem that explores the complexities of life and the universal desire for a better future. Gowda's writing is lyrical, and the narration adds an extra layer of depth to the story. It's a must-listen for fans of heartfelt storytelling.

  • St
    Stephanie Thompson 21-Jun-2024

    A Great Country is a powerful and moving audiobook that will leave you deeply impacted. Gowda's storytelling is engaging and the narration is superb. The characters are relatable and their journeys are filled with emotion. This is a story that will stay with you long after you've finished listening.

Add a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Rating *